Art Awards 2019

Art awards and exhibition from the 12th of July to the 15th of July 2019.

On the 12th of July art prize announcements were made and the exhibition was officially opened.

The theme this year “Go forth with hope, peace and courage”

Michelle Bowden (chair of COSSAG) opened the event with an acknowledgement of country done by Tony Robertson.

Dr Anne Kirker and Tarah Jameson represented the judging panel (unfortunately the 3rd judge Dr Rhyl Hinwood couldn’t make it).

1st prize (sponsored by Hargraves, Briggs, Jacuzzi Architects) went to Jennifer Long with her piece “Exodus”

2nd prize (second with a spiritual emphasis sponsored by COSSAG) went to Ky Curran        with her hanging sculpture “Contemporary rosary beads for peace, hope and      courage”

3rd prize (sponsored by COSSAG) went to Bronwyn Doherty with her piece “I shall fear no evil”

Highly Commended (sponsored by Anthony Storry Real Estate) went to Anne Collins   with her piece “The journey begins”

The Margaret Moore print makers prize went to Cielle van Vuuran with her piece “Ruha spirit breath series number III”

2019artprizeciellevanvuurenruha spirit breath series.jpg

The judges were very impressed with the overall quality of the entries this year which made choosing the winners a difficult task.

COSSAG wants to thank and congratulate all the artists for the 2019 “Go forth…” exhibition and art prize.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s